In 2014 Vias institute established an International Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB). ISAB’s main role is to advise the institute on its research strategy in the field of road safety. The ISAB members meet once a year and discuss the implementation of the strategy, the quality of the research and the possible options for the future.

The International Scientific Advisory Board currently consists of 9 members with leading roles in a variety of disciplines in the field of road safety:

Pierre-Jean Arnoux (IFSTTAR - The French Institute of Science and Technology for Transport, Development and Networks, France)

Karel Brookhuis (RUG - University of Groningen, the Netherlands)

Rune Elvik (TOI - Institute of Transport Economics, Norway)

Luciana Iorio (MIT - Ministry of Transport Infrastructure, Italy)

Klaus Machata (KfV - Austrian Road Safety Board, Austria; FERSI, IRTAD)

Robyn Robertson (TIRF - Traffic Injury Research Foundation, Canada)

Horst Schulze (BASt - Federal Highway Research Institute, Germany)

Maria Ségui (Independent consultant, previously DGT- General Directorate of Traffic, Spain)

Henk Stipdonk (SWOV - Institute for Road Safety Research, the Netherlands)